Document version numbering

Versions are 0.1, 0.2 etc until such point as the document is approved. As a programmer I appreciate being able to read something I’ve never seen, and understand it.
When I am ready to share/issue the document, I remove the “WIP” suffix (and also add details of the version to the version history section within the document). Document and Version Control Numbers are essentially special metadata fields. And then after a final version, if I make a further final version (ie a minor revision to a final document), I can make it clear it’s F02 which replaces F01, whereas if I am making a draft for a new version, the major version number goes up and then I have D01 for draft.But most of all please NEVER name a document as FINAL!!! It’s especially useful if I’m working on several documents at once, and really helps on projects where I am storing work-in-progress on a shared drive.One thing I like in particular about your approach is using words instead of just a numerical code. This means that small decisions like signifier words, must be carefully used. Every change should (I say must) be approved, otherwise we are accumulating a series of unapproved changes for some future approval and release. But inevitably (and increasingly in an agile world where change is to be encouraged, nay embraced)… things change, and version 1.0 needs to be revised.Your solution is nice that it makes sure that drafts have the same version number as the final copy for which they are drafts, which I like. In your situation, it sounds like you have a very specific need to have one new version number per week, so I guess you need to extend the method.I would struggle to train my employees to follow this numbering scheme, even if it is well-documented. 3.